manchester foe logo

Email action: Invite your MP to a Fracking/Climate Change meeting at Parliament on 23rd April

take action

Please ask your Member of Parliament (M.P) to attend an important Fracking and Climate Change presentation at the House of Commons co-organised by Friends of the Earth and the All Party Parliamentary Climate Change Group (APPCCG).

All party Parliamentary Climate Change GroupThis will give your MP the opportunity to hear from experts about the environmental and health impacts of fracking and the consequences for climate change.

The table below provides email addresses for Greater Manchester MPs. If you are not sure who your MP is (or you live outside the Greater Manchester area) – simply pop your postcode into the Write to Them website.

Suggested email text (see below) – feel free to edit but please keep it polite!

Thanks for making the time to do this.

 

DearFoE No to Fracking

I am writing to encourage you to attend an All Party Parliamentary Climate Change Group (APPCCG) Fracking and Climate Change event, organised in conjunction with Friends of the Earth.

The onshore extraction of gas through hydraulic fracturing (fracking) is at the early stages in the UK and is already very controversial. It’s advocates argue that it can provide a safe and secure source of energy.

However it poses many environmental risks, acknowledged in reports ranging from the European Commission and the UN Environment Programme. These risks include groundwater contamination, air pollution, impacts on tackling climate change through prolonging fossil fuel use and potential impacts on investment in renewables.

This open panel discussion will be held to exchange views on: shale gas and climate change targets; the environmental implications of fracking (including a perspective from Australia); and whether regulation can deal adequately with the risks.

Speakers:

• Dr John Broderick, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research

• Dr Mariann Lloyd-Smith, Senior Advisor to the National Toxics Network in Australia

• Eve McNamara, Ribble Estuary Against Fracking

• Tony Bosworth, Friends of the Earth England, Wales and Northern Ireland

The panel discussion will be followed by a question and answer session. Please enter via the Cromwell Green (visitor’s entrance) and allow about fifteen minutes to pass through security.

Please RSVP to Tony Bosworth at Tony.bosworth@foe.co.uk

When: Tuesday, 23rd April 2013, 2:00 – 3:30 pm.

Where: Committee Room 10, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA

Regards
[Your name]
[Your address]

 

Finding your MP – pop your postcode into the Write to Them website.

Member of Parliament (alphabetical order) Constituency Email address
Debbie Abrahams MP Oldham East and Saddleworth debbie.abrahams.mp@parliament.uk
Hazel Blears MP Salford and Eccles blearsh@parliament.uk
Graham Brady MP Altrincham and Sale West crowthers@parliament.uk
Andy Burnham MP Leigh burnhama@parliament.uk
Ann Coffey MP Stockport coffeya@parliament.uk
David Crausby MP Bolton North East david.crausby.mp@parliament.uk
Simon Danczuk MP Rochdale simon.danczuk.mp@parliament.uk
Jim Dobbin MP Heywood and Middleton jim.dobbin.constituency@internet.com
Yvonne Fovargue MP Makerfield yvonne.fovargue.mp@parliament.uk
Paul Goggins MP Wythenshawe and Sale East gogginsp@parliament.uk
Kate Green MP Stretford and Urmston kate.green.mp@parliament.uk
Andrew Gwynne MP Denton and Reddish gwynnea@parliament.uk
David Heyes MP Ashton-under-Lyne heyesd@parliament.uk
Julie Hilling MP Bolton West julie.hilling.mp@parliament.uk
Mark Hunter MP Cheadle mark.hunter.mp@parliament.uk
Gerald Kaufman MP Manchester, Gorton kaufmang@parliament.uk
Barbara Keeley MP Worsley and Eccles South keeleyb@parliament.uk
John Leech MP Manchester, Withington leechj@parliament.uk
Ivan Lewis MP Bury South ivanlewis@burysouth.fsnet.co.uk
Michael Meacher MP Oldham West and Royton massonm@parliament.uk
Lisa Nandy MP Wigan Lisa.nandy.mp@parliament.uk
David Nuttall MP Bury North david.nuttall.mp@parliament.uk
Lucy Powell MP Manchester – Central contact@lucypowell.org.uk
Yasmin Qureshi MP Bolton South East yasmin.qureshi.mp@parliament.uk
Jonathan Reynolds MP Stalybridge and Hyde jonathan@jonathanreynolds.org.uk
Graham Stringer MP Manchester Blackley and Broughton stringerg@parliament.uk
Andrew Stunell MP Hazel Grove enquiries@andrewstunell.org.uk

Find us on

Facebook

Support Us

Donate or join us using a standing order or PayPal.

Twitter @foemcr