manchester foe logo

URGENT: Ask your MP to back fracking moratorium

take action

On Monday, MPs will be voting on a series of amendments to the Infrastructure Bill, including one to introduce a moratorium on fracking.

This is the perfect opportunity to call a halt to the Government’s reckless and irresponsible pursuit of unconventional gas, which poses a grave threat to people’s health and the environment.








Email your MP

Whatever the party of your MP, please take, and share, this action asking them to vote in favour of a frack free UK on Monday:


Call your MP

Do you have a Labour MP?  If so, please could you give their office a call?  There are rumours Labour might change their position on fracking to back a moratorium, which would make a huge difference to our chance of keeping the UK frack free.

You can find your MP’s contact details at

Just give their office a ring, say you’re a constituent, that you think fracking is a terrible idea, and that you’d like them to back a moratorium on fracking by voting for amendments NC9 & 68 in the Infrastructure Bill debate on Monday.

Feel free to also mention amendments 50 (which would remove a duty to maximise oil & gas extraction) and 51 (which would remove a change to the trespass law that would allow companies to drill under people’s homes without telling them).

See this briefing for more details:


Tweet your MP

If you’re on Twitter, why not tweet your MP and ask them to back a moratorium on fracking by clicking on their name below:

Debbie Abrahams (Oldham East & Saddleworth)
Hazel Blears (Salford & Eccles)
Andy Burnham (Leigh)
Ann Coffey (Stockport)
Simon Danczuk (Rochdale)
Yvonne Fovargue (Makerfield)
Andrew Gwynne (Denton & Reddish)
Kate Green (Stretford & Urmston)
Julie Hilling (Bolton West)
Mark Hunter (Cheadle)
Mike Kane (Wythenshawe & Sale East)
Barbara Keeley (Worsley & Eccles South)
John Leech (Manchester Withington)
Ivan Lewis (Bury South)
Liz McInnes (Heywood & Middleton)
Michael Meacher (Oldham West & Royton)
Lisa Nandy (Wigan)
David Nuttall (Bury North)
Lucy Powell (Manchester Central)
Yasmin Qureshi (Bolton South East)
Jonathan Reynolds (Stalybridge & Hyde)

If your MP isn’t listed, they’re not on Twitter – why not give them a call instead?

Find us on



Support Us

Donate or join us using a standing order or PayPal.