manchester foe logo

Global Green New Deal: “Into the Portal, Leave No One Behind” (online)

Arundhati Roy and Naomi Klein in conversation, moderated by Asad Rehman – how do we move from crisis to justice and build a Global Green New Deal?

We knew our system was broken. The Covid-19 pandemic confirms everything we know about the cruelty of the global economy, and the visceral injustices of our societies.

Before this crisis struck, millions were already suffering from the effects of climate breakdown and obscene inequality.

Now, as the pandemic takes and disrupts lives, it is those who are most vulnerable, unable to access healthcare, and all those who live in precarity who continue to bear the heaviest burden. In times of disaster and crisis, it is always the poorest, the oppressed, and those under occupation, who are most affected. The call for justice is ringing louder than ever, from every corner of the globe.

WE NEED TO MOVE FROM CRISIS TO JUSTICE WITH A GLOBAL GREEN NEW DEAL FOR PEOPLE AND THE PLANET

In the coming weeks, alongside our partners, we will launch a Global Green New Deal call to action. Together, we will create a people’s plan to build a resilient global economy, based on the principles of a just transition and recovery, which guarantees the right to a dignified life for all.

On May 19, join Arundhati Roy and Naomi Klein at 4:00 PM GMT+1 / 11:00 AM EDT / 8:30 PM IST, moderated by Asad Rehman, to hear how we can begin this global transformation.

Register your place…. 

Event Details

Location Online
Start Tuesday 19 May 2020 4:00pm
Finish Tuesday 19 May 2020 5:30pm
Organised by Global Green New Deal (an initiative by The Leap and War on Want)
Booking https://www.globalgnd.org/into-the-portal-webinar/


Find us on

Facebook

Events

Support Us

Donate or join us using a standing order or PayPal.

Twitter